Gong Xi Fa Cai – Happy Chinese New Year

It’s the year of the Dragon on the Lunar calender for 2012 and it’s time to have my yearly Gau, traditional mochi type desert that I remember eating when I was little. I’m not full Chinese (just a little sliver) but we did have fun back home with all the culture. I remember getting the dried fruits at Kwon On and the long line for the freshly made Gau. Here is what I made this year, although sometimes I never remember when it is, I always try to make something Chinese. Here are some of the pictures

Since steaming the Gau takes about 4 hours, I had to start early this morning. And I had lovely steaming weather outside…rain =) And since I can only fit 1 dish into my steamer at a time, I had 3 different steamers going. It was cold and rainy outside and I had all the windows closed, so my windows were ‘steamy’ alright!

I just took whatever ingredients I had at the time. I had half a package left of mochi rice flour, I normally use Mochiko but I wanted to save the box because my kids don’t like Gau too much. It’s pretty much Mochiko (glutenous rice flour) dark brown sugar and water for the mixture. I normally put more brown sugar, (like called for in the recipe) but I didn’t do that this time and used partial white and brown. The taste is about the same so I’m not too picky about it.

Normally you put a dried red date in the middle and normally I don’t put anything, but I had some red tapioca balls so I decided to put those in, just for the look. I added to the top white and black sesame seeds and placed them into smaller bowls for steaming. The recipe I have says to place it in a circular cake pan. The mixture should be thick, but this time I did make the mistake to make it thin. Ooops, everyone makes mistakes sometimes, but it should all taste the same, just the texture of it is pretty ‘mushy’.

Then you steam it for 4 hours or more, until it’s slightly firm and let it cool, if after 4 hours it still feels tacky, then let it go for a few more hours and check in on it. You can let it cool all the way and check it again to see if it cooked all the way through. It’s best to make it the day before so it can cool overnight and be ready to cut on new years.

 
For dinner I decided to make some noodles, so I just went through what I had in the fridge and stir fried that up. But since it was raining outside, I decided to make my own noodles. Using a basic egg noodle recipe using wheat flour instead of white and experimented by folding in some azuki (red bean) bean paste Into the dough. I didn’t add much so there wasn’t much of a flavor difference, but I feel if I used white flour there would be more of a definite difference.

Ingredients:

  • Egg Noodles
  • Chicken
  • Onions
  • Celery
  • Carrots
  • Broccoli

I want to eventually perfect my noodle recipes and place them on here. Right now though, I have a bowl full of unsweetened azuki beans and no clue what to do with them. Maybe I’ll make some manju. I still need to get it perfect, but practice makes perfect.

My Chinese recipes to try:

Informational Chinese New Year Links:

So hope everyone enjoys this new year and lets celebrate the Year of the Dragon!

Note: I didn’t take the video, but someone sent it to me on facebook and I loved it so I had to share.

About eMarie

A typical stay@home mom who works with things around the house.
This entry was posted in Ethnic, Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

