Water, water and even more water

Now I’m not saying to drown yourself, but water IS good for you. It’s good for the planet, it’s good for us. When trying to change your way of eating you should also change your drinking habits. We Americans consume the most amount of water in the world, almost 10 times more than some of the third world countries out there. We consume not only in drinking, but everything else. But that is so another topic all together. What I want to talk about now is cleansing your body of the toxins and helping you lose some weight.

We all need to drink something, but most of America chooses to drink sugary sodas and drinks then they do water. Where I grew up, we could drink water straight from the tap. Unfortunately I can’t do that now, everything needs to be filtered through some kind of system before it’s okay for us to drink. But you shouldn’t let that stop you. Although bottled water is expensive and questionable, there are more than enough BPA free reusable bottles and water filtration systems to help you drink clean water. So what’s stopping you?

I would assume most of us picked up this bad habit of selecting sweet sugar drinks over the no calorie healthy water when we were young. Our taste buds were honed to like sweet things so we would eat or drink them. But we need to change that. Have you ever tried going a whole day JUST drinking water…or maybe even a week? How about a month on just WATER to drink? You’ll survive, and you might be amazed that if by just switching from soda to water how much you can lose in pounds. Now add that to healthy eating and exercise and you got a great plan to shed those pounds this New Year.

When I was in high school, I was at my lowest weight (that I can remember) at the height I am now. I was still considered overweight, but far from the ‘obese’ I would be categorized now. I was in marching band and I HAD to drink a lot of water. Add that to living in a hot and humid environment and you needed the water to keep you from fainting. I remember our teacher even banning us from drinking juice or soda during marching season and while we were training. He told us that soda would make us even MORE dehydrated. Water became my best friend and I started to lose… a LOT!

So just by replacing water with most of your drinks you can get healthier, stay hydrated and possibly lose some weight along the way. Some tips I’ve heard along the way to help you with water are:

  • Drink about 8-10 glasses of water a day. This statement is actually a little false because depending on where you live and how much you sweat, you can drink less or more then the recommended amount. But I think 8 glasses is a good goal to shoot for even if you don’t make it, just be sure not to drink too much to a point to where you are bloated and too little to a point where your eyes are sunken in and you’re dehydrated. You should be drinking a few sips every 10-15 minutes to give your body time to absorb the water.
  • Drink a glass of ICE COLD water in the morning and before a work out. I heard this on an episode of Dr. Oz, your body uses more energy to warm up the cold water. It can be harder to drink and may give you brain freeze if you do it wrong (you don’t need to chug it) but it also wakes you up in the morning and helps gets your body moving for the day.
  • Watch you pee, if you don’t know if you’re drinking enough water throughout the day, just look at your urine. If it’s clear, you’re good. If it’s dark yellow and very ammonia smelling, then you’re not getting enough water for your body.
  • Have at least 2 cups of water with each meal. This is something I do on my own. Yes, it will fill your stomach and fools your mind into eating less. But this also helps you fill your own quota of water a day, especially if you have a hard time remembering. You should drink something when you eat so just be sure to drink a lot while you’re eating. The water fills your stomach and if you’re eating a lot of high fiber foods then you’ll get full a lot faster and eat a lot less at one sitting. I normally take a sip every few bites of food. It helps me to ‘wash it down’ so to say and it will also slow your eating down because you’re forced to put your fork or spoon down and hopefully chew up your food.
  • If you must have flavor, dilute some all natural fruit juice with water. This also works for kids too. It adds that little flavor to help get the water down but keeps most of the sugar out. I dilute all juices for my kids and even do that for myself. Sometimes the store bought brands are just too strong and sweet that I NEED to dilute it. Even when eating out at a fast food restaurants. If you can fill your own drink, I normally add water. I do occasionally ‘take it straight’ but that is far and few in between.
  • If you still need a caffeine fix, then try Green Tea or Black Tea, there is more water, less sugar (if you don’t add anything) and has more antioxidants to help keep your body healthy. It’s far healthier then coffee and soda, just remember not to add cream in because it fully takes away from the health factor of the Tea.

Now I am not perfect, I struggle with this as I write this article. Being a mother, sometimes I do get so busy I forget to even drink water and that is EXACTLY why I’m writing this. To spread the word and get people thinking, if only for a little while.

So challenge yourself, and replace all that soda and coffee you drink and try to drink more water. You’ll be amazed on how good you’ll feel after a week of nothing but that. You can have your occasional treat but don’t count that in your 8 glasses count.

Here are some helpful links to study up on if you don’t just want to take my own word for it:

About eMarie

A typical stay@home mom who works with things around the house.
This entry was posted in Information and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

